By Chad Engle, Loss Prevention and Safety Manager

Recognizing and rewarding member county and agency safety committees for their loss prevention efforts is one of the most enjoyable parts of my job.  To qualify for this year’s Money for Minutes program, member safety committees had to do the following:

  1. Conduct at least one safety committee meeting per quarter during the calendar
  2. Investigate and discuss all incidents, events, injuries, and accidents and make recommendations about how to prevent recurrence of similar incidents.
  3. Submit minutes from each meeting, containing recommendations, to NIRMA for review.

All member safety committees that met the requirements outlined above were eligible to win one of ten $500.00 awards. NIRMA intends for these awards to be used by the winning member to further their loss prevention and safety efforts.

Congratulations to the following safety committees. You are 2023’s Money for Minutes award winners!

Box Butte County Roads Cheyenne County
Dodge County Roads Hall County
Howard County Merrick County
Morrill County Saline County
Sherman County Roads Thayer County

Thank you for your loss prevention and safety efforts to protect your employees from injury and your county from liability. Your hard work does not go unnoticed.

Budget permitting, the Money for Minutes program will continue into 2024. Remember that if you miss your first quarterly meeting you are out of luck, so get that meeting on the calendar and remember to submit your meetings to NIRMA at  Please reach out if you have any questions. Our loss prevention team is always looking to help.